An open letter of apology to Mumford & Sons

If there was one thing that I was completely sure of when I woke up this morning, it was that I was going to HATE the new Mumford & Sons album. Yes, I am guilty of being completely into their folky gimmick, and when I heard that they had ditched the banjos and acoustic guitars for a more electric sound, I was more than upset. (PSA: Trust me; I am aware that Mumford & Sons is honestly not a very good band in any capacity, but I love them. Judge me if you must, but those first two albums were kickass, and somewhere deep in your heart, beneath all your pride, you know that I’m right. End PSA.)

So Mumford & Sons ditched the folk vibe, and I was ENRAGED. I felt so betrayed. These douchebags never cared about bringing a cool new sound to an over-saturated industry of rap hip-hop. They never cared about anything! They used me! They tricked me! AND IT WORKED. I GAVE THEM MY MONEY. WITH A SMILE ON MY FACE, I BOUGHT THOSE STINKIN’ ALBUMS.

With my typical flair for the dramatic, I ranted and raved for days about the genuine pain I felt because Mumford & Sons had “sold out.” I tweeted about it so many times that I must have lost followers. I was just outraged, and I felt so justified in that anger.

When I sat down today to listen to the new album on Spotify (because hell no I didn’t preorder that crap), it felt more like a chore than anything else. I wasn’t excited to hear new music from a band I had once liked so much; mostly I just wanted to scoff and wallow in my bitterness.

But damn it if I haven’t been listening to that new album the entire time I’ve been writing this post.

Because it’s good. All right? It’s really good.

I was wrong.

Very very wrong.

The Wolf is one of the best songs Mumford & Sons have ever made, and nope, there’s not a trace of banjo in it. I don’t even miss the banjos. (OK, I do miss them a little bit. But it’s manageable.) The important thing is that I like this album. A lot. Despite the fact that I was unbelievably confident in the fact that I would despise it.

It is amazing how often I’m wrong. Seriously… I am wrong, like, a good 99 percent of the time.

I’m aware that I could invalidate any of my other posts with this one. I get in a lot of political arguments on Facebook, and I can see the future, “But Schyler, you said you were wrong 99 percent of the time, and this is one of those times,” comments now. Know that if you try to use this post against me, I will be forced to argue that this time is, in fact, one of those one percent correct times, and I must be right if I’ve reserved something as precious as the one percent for this particular opinion.

I don’t feel bad for admitting that I’m constantly wrong about a lot of things, because I think most people are wrong about most things, most of the time. To be human is to be ridiculously sure of yourself, too sure of yourself, and then to realize again and again that you don’t know as much as you thought you knew. To be wise, I believe, is to admit your failings, to admit when you’re wrong and to learn from it. For the sake of my pride, I could have denied that I enjoyed the new Mumford & Sons album forever. I could have held on to the bitterness and the anger and I could have never listened to the album again. But I won’t do that. Because it’s a good album. And I was wrong.

Also, Mumford & Sons can make whatever shouty, foot-stomping music they want to make, and why did I ever think I had a say? But that’s beside the point.

So, I’m sorry to Mumford — and to all of the Sons.

Wilder Mind is pretty great.

I was wrong.

What can I say? I’m only human. And I really like banjos.

Screen Shot 2015-05-04 at 9.14.53 PM

One thought on “An open letter of apology to Mumford & Sons

Leave a Reply

