A big list of happy stuff — Day #5

I’m not in a writing mood today. I’m not in any mood today, except for a bad one. “Dan’s Song” by Frank Turner has a line that sums up my current mood pretty perfectly:

“We listen to these heartbreak songs when nothing’s really wrong, and then we smile when we’re asked and say we’re fine.”

There’s no particular reason for the mood; I’ve just been feeling down. It happens. Still, I made the frustrating decision to write something here every day for an entire month, and while the odds of me dropping out are fairly high, I’m certainly not dropping out on the fifth day. That would be embarrassing.

So this post is going to look quite different from the first few. This isn’t going to be a rant about acceptance or a nostalgic look at friendship from years past. Instead, this will be a clear and deliberate attempt to brighten my own mood. It’s a little selfish in that way, but I’m allowed to be selfish, because I make the rules with this blog.

What follows is a list — because I love lists — of things that make me happy. Some of these will be big universal things, while others will probably be weirdly specific. I’m writing whatever comes to mind. Overall, I want to figure out if consciously thinking about happy things can make one happier. Let’s find out.

  1. Walking into someone else’s room and seeing Stephen King books on the bookshelf
  2. “Lark” by Josh Ritter
  3. When someone says, “I could care less,” and I get to silently smirk to myself because what they meant to say was, “I COULDN’T care less”
  4. LOST
  5. Turning on every light in every room I walk into
  6. Concerts
  7. Calling Oliver a “knockoff Corgi”Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 6.45.23 PM
  8. Ireland
  9. Surfing Reddit instead of taking notes during lecture classes
  10. Pitching movies
  11. Calling myself a “desperate housewife” every single time I drink wine
  12. Stan Rizzo’s magnificent beard on Mad MenScreen Shot 2015-05-05 at 7.08.19 PM
  13. Fanfiction
  14. Calling Jake “Bunny”
  15. The way my brother incorrectly pronounces “jalapeño”
  16. Bart Simpson
  17. Lisa Simpson
  18. The freaking SimpsonsScreen Shot 2014-04-15 at 4.58.35 PM
  19. Getting older and learning to appreciate my parents as the AWESOME people they are
  20. Being a Tar Heel
  21. Seesters
  22. Weird dark comedies
  23. Louis Theroux’s documentaries
  24. Dark beers
  25. Guys with dark hair and blue eyes
  26. Taking pictures in front of castlesScreen Shot 2015-05-05 at 6.49.54 PM
  27. Summer internships in Los Angeles
  28. Going to museums with my dad and obnoxiously reading EVERY SINGLE THING
  29. Burritos. Always burritos
  30. That one time Bobcat Goldthwait favorited my tweet
  31. Literally everything about Rob Delaney
  32. Calling Josh at all hours of the night and always getting an answer
  33. SHREKScreen Shot 2015-05-05 at 7.11.16 PM
  34. Professors who genuinely care
  35. My forever roomie/soulmate, Plaguey
  36. Blue cups at He’s Not
  37. Everything about Domhnall GleesonScreen Shot 2015-04-21 at 8.10.50 PM
  38. Talking about religion with other people who are open and curious
  39. Sitting around campfires with friends
  40. Cousins
  41. Taylor Swift and Ed Sheeran’s friendship
  42. Sarah’s obsession with writing a movie about a squirrel professor
  43. This Kurt Vonnegut quote: “And Lot’s wife, of course, was told not to look back where all those people and their homes had been. But she did look back, and I love her for that, because it was so human. So she was turned into a pillar of salt. So it goes.”
  44. Red dresses
  45. Getting paid to write
  46. My perfect day in EdinburghScreen Shot 2015-05-05 at 6.48.18 PM
  47. Ghost tours
  48. The Great Sleepovers at the beach house
  49. Tea
  50. MEETING JOSH RITTER
  51. Dancing in a hotel room with Sarah after finding out that we were both going to Carolina
  52. Reminding myself that this is water. This is water.
  53. Lists
  54. That time I won Optimist Girl of the Year for my high school (LOL)
  55. Larry David
  56. The fact that I still live with my best friend since second grade
  57. Talking about Grizzly Man constantlyScreen Shot 2013-12-24 at 11.46.31 PM

Whoa, y’all. Life is awesome. I could go on and on.

This experiment was a huge success. Do this immediately if you need to lift your spirits. Hell, do it even if you don’t. This rocked. Great idea, me. Well done.

2 thoughts on “A big list of happy stuff — Day #5

Leave a Reply

